Where Do I Belong?

I will lie in my city bed

Wishing for my melancholy home

Sleeping in lights

Murdered by homesickness syndrome

 

I dream about being missed

Or of the old crooked tree

I just want to be kissed

By the homelike smell of the sea

 

Cuddled by home

And suffocated by love

Yet I feel so alone

I am the spy they want to get rid of

 

My childhood sings in the air

Memories stick to the leaves

In this spot, people seem to care

About what the other believes

 

This place never wanted me

I was made for the city streets

So why does this town hold the key

For where my heart and head meet

 

Unlock my hatred

For these people who roam

The only thing in common

Is we call the same town ‘home’

 

And when I wonder the little lanes

I crave the taste

Of the city planes

And I kick at the concrete waste

 

For why would I want to be in the place

Where everything is scarce

When I can be in the cold embrace

The of the cities circus

 

I don’t want to here

In the rotten town

And I hate to be there

Where the lights beat me down

 

Because I don’t want to be anywhere.

Leave a Reply

